A Lonely Star

Image

A Lonely Star

In life’s long journey, I needed a friend,
I looked in all directions- you let out your hand:
A life-saving shaft in a turbulent sea,
I grabbed it and held on as tight as can be.

Clinging to it, I swam to the shore,
The crowd, the neon lights scared me so;
I looked back to see the lean strong hand,
But, lo and behold, it just did not show.

Seeing the men and women cheer me so,
You thought I would let your hand go;
The men and women do not know my soul,
But you my friend were the crutch of my soul.

The men and women who cheer me so,
Only know the beauty at the fore;
They do not have time to look into the core-
Which my friend is what you alone know.

My heart and soul were yours to protect,
To safeguard from the feeling of unrest;
But you my friend would rather save a moth,
Brilliance of a butterfly could blind you thought.

Without the strength of your hand to shelter me,
Don’t you see I am just a caterpillar on a tree?
Come my friend give me your hand once more,
Turn me into a butterfly with shine and lore.

Wherever in the world I may fly or be,
Men and women will only behold me;
However, you my friend will only always see,
The brilliance that lies inside of me.

I am a lonely star don’t you see-
Lost in a galaxy of revelry?
Come my friend out of a caterpillar set me free,
Don’t you see I am a butterfly for the world to see?

5 thoughts on “A Lonely Star

Leave a Reply

