Walk Of Life

Image

Walk of Life

Hand in hand we walked the cobbled roads

Of the small French town, by the coast

The pretty villas slowly coming to life

Through French windows, sunlight peeking inside

 

Claret bougainvillea’s swaying in the breeze

Fanned the blue bells dancing on the trees

Tall pretty women opening their doors,

Along with their poodles to walk the road

 

Tiny cafés slowly opening their gates

Allowing the fresh coffee aroma to emanate –

From large percolators through the balustrade

Of the rooftops which well laid tables displayed

 

The winding roads led us to the sea shore

Where colorful fishing boats were ready to go

Morning joggers rushed passed our fore

As we stood watching the sun in full glow

 

I distinctly recall when we first met

In your eyes I saw my search end

For I had always wanted love to be

Bonding of soul, not just physical intimacy

 

You said you loved me for who I am

Not the pretty sight I make when I’m made up

What the world sees is not the real me

But you knew that, you knew my soul already

 

The comfort from start, in talking to you incessantly

Had allowed me to pour my heart totally

Since you had not seen me as yet, physically

Assured I was, that you loved my soul truly

 

Even now whenever I am with you

No pretense or dress I need to please you

The façade I wear is for the world to view

For you, I reserve only ‘me’ real and true

 

We have come a long, long way

In our lives, as we stand here today

Knowing together, we are meant to stay

Hand in hand, in life’s precarious gait

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

