The Mask I Wear

Image

  

The Mask I Wear

So much is bottled within me –

Struggling to erupt, forcing to be free;

So much I hold with clenched teeth –

Screaming it out would liberate me.

 

Why is it that I cannot break free

From the shackles that bind me?

Am I a prisoner of my own thoughts?

I am breaking within, let me out.

 

What is it that chokes my voice –

Bottling my tears in a tight vial?

Why does my face seem like a mask –

Hiding what is behind to unmask?

 

Why can’t I beat the fear engulfing me –

To allow people to look inside me?

Am I afraid they will not accept me –

Ridiculing the weakness they see in me?

 

If only I can shout out aloud –

Open the doors and let it all out,

Pull the mask off my vulnerable soul:

From the vulnerability strength will emerge.

Image 

Leave a Reply

