As I Traverse

As I Traverse:

Green green green…is all I can see
  As I slice through the face of diversity,
Crossing over south to north of India
Of a land enigmatic to say the least

Tall white birds fly low over lush grass
That twinkles delightfully in the sunlight;
As shimmering rivulets and lakes gush
Below pretty bridges on which tracks run

Clusters of coloured graves with crucifixes-
  Stand embedded on earth amidst palm groves;
  As tall, bright deity engraved temples stand
Colourful idols carved large on pink walls

Amid ceaseless stretches of lush brown fields
Haystacks stand as clusters of village huts;
While on trees amidst them white birds fly-
Over sunburnt men, women bent over work

My eyes glued to the sight from my berth
Music plays into my ears from an ipod…
I concede to culture diverse- south to north
  On landscape distinctly changing hue and tone

PS – I’m writing this, sitting on my lower side-berth on the Rajdhani Express, from Chennai to Delhi. Wanted to undertake this journey alone for a long time now and it’s been worth it – truly amazing, watching the change of topography and culture.

Leave a Reply

