Imagination Of Love

Image

Imagination Of Love

 

Why is it that I miss you so – only

 days since you’re at another shore?

Why am I not able to make you see

You’ve begun to mean the world to me?

 

Why does it not matter how you feel

So long as my heart can intone steadily?

After long, I now feel light and cheery,

Of my loneliness I’ve learnt to be free.

 

Thinking of ‘us’ now makes me smile

As in my imagination we have a life:

In which we wake together at dawn,

Each of us to our private thoughts.

 

Over tea as we overlook the blue sea-

From our balcony, amidst tall trees:

We see the sun beaming cheerily-

Caressing the sea – gurgling shyly.

 

As I giggled in your arms last night,

When you made love to me teasingly.

You never cease to make me smile,

As it also gives you a steady high.

 

In your mind you also play this scene-

 Where you make love to me tender, sweet.

Though in real life we’re as yet to meet,

I can now feel every inch of your being.

 

Imagination is like the gleam of the sun,

That permeates where nothing else can:

It warms or scorches us with its intense rays,

Shielding us from life’s cruel, virulent haze.

 

The lines above were inspired by the ones below:

“I love you as certain dark things are to be loved,
in secret, between the shadow and the soul.” ― Pablo Neruda

 

Image

Leave a Reply

