Cold At Your Door

WoodShedRainShelter

Cold At Your Door

 

All I wanted from you is a little shade,

A little shelter from the rain I desired;

Cover from the torrential pour outside,

A safe haven is all my soul considered.

 

It wasn’t your heart I wanted for myself,

Neither a space in your house did I ask;

Refuge from the torrent is all I coveted,

Till I could find my own bearing, upright

 

You then indicated an illusionary space,

Permitted me a canopy on your porch,

My heart tripped, in the torrential rain,

So you left me outside, cold in the dark

 

Amassing my self-esteem from your egress,

I walked out bare, abashed, a mere wobble;

Drenched, in public view, I stood vulnerable

True love came by, straddled me in its lurch.

 

“Oft expectation fails, and most oft there where most it promises.”

William Shakespeare. All’s Well That Ends Well, act II, i, 145

61525b9a1a40fd92d16463345388eeea 

Leave a Reply

