Perspectives

a5c9891dbb874680afb97795ba2f1f3c

                        1.

I sowed a tender unique plant,

            Nurtured it with love and care;

Into it I put my time and effort –

            It would grow special and rare:

You came along to visit one day –

            “The pot’s so exquisite” you raved.

 

                        2.

I dressed with care to please you –

            My face shone, my hair was intact;

I wore shoes and a handbag to match –

            The earrings, neckwear, were rare.

But it’s my dress you commended highly –

            Looking through as I wasn’t there.

 

                        3.

I loved you more than you did yourself,

            Did all I could to convey you’re the best;

But you flashed me your expedient views –

            Jealousy in love is humdrum, out-of-place.

 

                        4.

I work so hard to shine, to succeed in life –

            You see my sincerity and efficiency radiate

But you turn a blind eye as if from the sun:

            Appreciating the moon – my light replicates.

 

                        5.

I communicate, but you don’t read cues –

            Leaving me unappreciated, so refused;

How am I supposed to love wholeheartedly –

            When it’s only of your sentiments you care:

In steadying relationships, mustn’t we abide –

            To receive with grace, listen to what’s quiet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

