Stealing A Slice Of Sunshine

 

IMG_20160622_163102

 

I’m walking downhill the boulevard

with picturesque sights at every verge,

through which I see rhododendrons

and roses at doors and windows of cottages –

with the backdrop of a peeking, pristine blue sky

through hills over which clouds playfully pry.

 

Even as I stand in awe at every other hedge-gate

to steal an eyeful of nature’s abundance –

Thimphu in the ‘land of happiness’ is blessed with:

A couple of furry dogs invariably come barking up at me

but they merely sniff around, then quietly watch

me as I steal a slice of the setting sunshine.

 

Then I stroll on with an eyeful of pictorial joy

I’ve collected as if alms from a doorstep as a handful of rye –

my soul is as if that of a wandering monk’s

as it’s floating light in the cool sky:

for in my mind’s eye I’m collecting gratuitous

sights – I’m carrying along in my heart’s inflated pouch.

 

Cars floating uphill I deftly dodge with pictographic sight

when two boys dribbling a football become primary highlight –

as I walk by satiated with their polite innocence

along with a woody aroma infused with the chill in soft sunlight,

my heart is full of the generous alms of sights I’ve imbibed

to carry back to my world to wear as a perfume named – ‘Sublime’

 

 

 

DSCN3301

DSCN3296

DSCN3298

DSCN3299

 

DSCN3308

DSCN3307

DSCN3305

DSCN3309

DSCN3312

DSCN3315
DSCN3416

DSCN3418DSCN3419DSCN3415

Leave a Reply

