The Baton Of Power

jayalalitha_1486296011

 

I lived in her charismatic shadow all my life –

Guarding her halo of beauty, fame, and power;

I’ve bided my time to step on the political stage

Coaching myself under a pretentious cover.

 

The greenroom provided a great view of the drama,

Lending me ample light to nurture my own exposure –

As if my life’s film I was developing in the dark room,

I came to public light when her life’s show was over.

 

My dreams and ambitions I kept tightly wrapped

In a thick blanket – of a stoic, silent demeanor:

Even as I fanned my families lofty aspirations

With resolute determination sans a nervous tremor.

 

The loyal hearts of Tamil Nadu scorned at me

For scheming against their beloved CM – Amma Jayalalitha;

But they didn’t know I, Sasikala, was her shadow,

So someday my fame and face might precede her in posters.

 

People, why didn’t someone tell me – ambition, grit, willpower

Aren’t enough, in this murderous race for power:

If education, experience and wisdom are not your teachers –

A solid baton of trust is binding to run a race you’ve hankered.

 

 

Please refer to the links below for the socio-political context of my poem…

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-38965726

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/how-sasikala-emerged-from-jayalalithaas-shadow/articleshow/56990708.cms

http://www.news18.com/news/politics/sasikala-qaidi-no-9235-will-make-candles-in-bangalore-jail-1349546.html

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

