Living Free

FB_IMG_1494658343213

Ever since a child, I was bound by people’s expectations of me, based on their deductions of my capability, be it my parents, teachers or colleagues: I was too quiet and timid to be a leader – my teachers thought, my parents considered I was too reserved and shy to go out and work, while my senior colleagues did not believe I could stand up and fight resistance as required in senior roles, perhaps due to the way I looked or due to lacking the perceptible aggression in my voice and body language. But I always waited for an opportunity to find the gates to these perceptions open, to run out and prove my worth, then return to prove them all wrong, and all this several times in life.

When I was about to start on my first novel, I had plenty of detractors – one of whom a close friend who actually said to me “you’re climbing the wrong tree.” But his words challenged me to cut him out as my friend, just as I did other negative influences, to complete what I set my mind to do.

So yes, I’ve often had to even fight with myself for the strength and conviction to break out of the gates of portrayals caging me…to be able to do what I wanted, but it’s all been well worth the run around in life, so that little can hold me back now.
It’s only when you are constantly bound in shackles by the perceptions the world has of you that you develop the strength, the ability to break free. So if you’ve wondered whether I was born free, grew up free…hell no, I was more leashed than most of you have been, but sure am living free now.  🙂

FB_IMG_1494658861392

Yes, you can do it!!! You can surely climb over, just that you have to truly believe in yourself, as no one else might, and even if the rest of the world insists that you can’t.

What we think of ourselves creates our self esteem and confidence, which in turn will establish our reputation – if we have the patience and determination to persist in elevating our value in our own eyes.

“Character is like a tree and reputation like its shadow. The shadow is what we think of it; the tree is the real thing.:
“I desire so to conduct the affairs of this administration that if at the end, when I come to lay down the reins of power, I have lost every other friend on earth, I shall at least have one friend left, and that friend shall be down inside me.”
— Abraham Lincoln

FB_IMG_1494658976651

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

